Introducing Reuben James Robinson…

As my last few posts have been about expecting a baby, I thought it was about time I introduce this little man to the world of my blog!

So here he is…Reuben James Robinson, born 13th September 2013 at 12.15, 7lbs.

IMG-20130918-00036

Part of me can’t believe he’s arrived, the other part can’t remember what life was like without him. It’s been a roller coaster of a couple of weeks. Here are a few things I have learned, since we’ve been blessed to have him in our lives:

  • Some things do just ‘come naturally’. I never believed anyone when they told me that. Before Reuben was born I was worried as I literally had NO experience of tiny babies, but either by nature or necessity, things do begin to fall into place.
  • Every day there are new things to learn – I will NEVER know it all. I need to be okay with that.
  • Having always been an early to bed girl and enjoyed my long lie in’s, it’s amazing how little sleep you actually can function on when you have to!
  • Babies are very forgiving – I might be beating myself up about the bottle lid that wasn’t on tight enough and soaked him to the skin; the nappy that that exploded because it wasn’t in correct position; the mountain of washing that still needs to go in the machine; or not winding him properly and for the first few tries but Reuben holds none of them against me! Phew!
  • Mums are the best invention ever – mine has been staying with us a lot of these last two weeks and I know that I would not have been able to manage without her.  She’s taught me so much about caring and looking after my little son.
  • The world does not end if I don’t manage to wash, blow dry and straighten my hair every day!! I used be so fussy about that. Now, a two minute shower and dry shampoo are quickly becoming my best friends.
  • My husband, Gavin, is a great Dad. His confidence in handling Reuben, when he was a few hours old, helped me believe that we could raise our little boy together. His love and care for him (especially when they are having a wee moment alone) melts my heart every time.
  • It’s okay to have a wee weep and cry when I need to – sometimes it’s because I am tired; overwhelmed; anxious; happy or frustrated. Other times there is no good reason for it, but I just need to let it out. I can’t explain it and I don’t have to.

Perhaps the biggest and most important thing I have learned is  – life will never be the same again! I need to embrace that. Yes, I have my moments when I miss the ‘just the two of us times’ but I would not change ‘the three of us’ for the world. There are exciting times ahead, difficult times, funny times, happy times and sad times. But life is to be lived and all I need to do at the minute is take one day at a time, love and learn my son, be good to myself and Gavin, and trust that the God who created both of us and Reuben is with us every step of the way.

Now that you have been introduced to Reuben, you’ll no doubt hear lots more about him over the coming week and months!

One thought on “Introducing Reuben James Robinson…

Leave a Reply

