Mercies in Disguise

Screen Shot 2016-06-12 at 11.25.20There are so many times I come across someone who says what I want to say in words, ways and means, so much better than any of my attempts. This is very much one of those times:

The Bible says that “God’s thoughts are not my thoughts nor are His ways my ways”. 

So what happens when this proves to be the case – when things happen in my life that are not what I want; when I don’t know what God knows; or understand Him or His ways. What then? Or as this songs asks – What if?’

What if I don’t get what I pray for but instead God answers me with, what seems to be, the exact opposite?

What if my hopes and dreams go unmet until eternity because they are, in fact, a reminder that this is not my home, and I am made for so much more than what I can see right now?

What if I have to walk a path of suffering, confusion, hurt and injustice because they are part of God’s journey for me at this point and time?

What if the trials of my life are His mercies in disguise?

What then? Where do I go with this? Do I doubt who He is, how much He loves me, His word and His promises? Or do I trust Him and accept that He knows his plans and purposes much better than I do? Do I strop like a spoilt child or do I surrender?

My answer, in theory, is of course I surrender. In practice? Normally quite the opposite. I stamp my feet; I worry; I question His power and His heart towards me; I re-evaluate my calling and my commitment; I contemplate giving up and doing things my own way. This song really challenges me to see past what I reckon I know, to trust God when I don’t get what I want, to believe His word is true; and that in all things He is working for my good because He loves me.

“What if your blessings come through rains drops, what if your healing comes through tears, what if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know you’re near, what if the trials of this life are your mercies in disguise?”

What then? Where does my faith take me? On this I continue to ponder…

Leave a Reply

